Our services

What we offer

We are excited and inspired by all that a stay in Great Britain and our British partner schools can offer. We would like to share this enthusiasm with you and your child. We have over 25 years of experience in finding boarding schools, know over 200 English schools personally, and are always in close contact with our families, students and local contacts.

We know that not every school is the right fit for every child, but there is exactly the right school for every child. And once this has been found, the time spent at an English boarding school can be one of the most wonderful experiences of one's youth and school years.

Trust us, we will be happy to prove it to you!

image 015

Consulting

Our initial consultation is always free of charge. The aim of our first meeting is to get to know you and your child, his/her wishes and interests, and to find out which boarding school would be a good fit.

BRYANSTON tennis on grass courts v2

Placement

Based on our experience, we can suggest the right schools for your child in terms of academic, sporting and creative activities, as well as according to your wishes regarding the geographical location, school size, ethos and values of the school.

KZ7C7997 Edit

Guidance

Our service does not end after the successful placement at a school. We continue to support you, whether it be on the subject of visas, travel or school uniforms. We remain at your side to help you with any questions during your child's entire stay

Management

Family business since 1996

The company was founded in December 1996 by Barbara Glasmacher, who at the time was considered a pioneer in the field of boarding school consultancy for the UK. Mrs Glasmacher senior stepped down from her active role as managing director of the company in 2021, but remains closely associated with the company as an advisor.

Theresa Glasmacher knows British boarding school life from her own school days at Sevenoaks School in the late 1980s. She has been active in the company since 2006. After many years of leading the small business together with her mother, she is now the sole managing director.

Team

We are happy to be there for you

glasmacher ueberuns

Theresa Glasmacher

After two wonderful years at Sevenoaks School, which she completed with an IB Diploma, Theresa Glasmacher first did a banking apprenticeship in Munich. She then studied history and politics at the London School of Economics and at the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy (Tufts University) in Boston. From 1998 to 2005, Ms Glasmacher worked in the field of environmental and climate protection in Munich and Berlin, where she was also involved in the EU candidacy process of Poland, Hungary and Estonia. In 2006, she returned to Munich to work in the small family business. Theresa Glasmacher is married and the mother of two sons.

glasmacher team

Tanja Berelsmann

Great Britain is Tanja Berelsmann's second home. Her love of the country, its people and the English language first started when she completed her A-levels at Frensham Heights School in 1999. She subsequently studied European Cultural and Political Studies at university in England, France and Germany. After teaching in Africa and Berlin, she joined our team in 2010. Like her mother Elke Böck, Tanja loves giving our families the best possible advice in their search for the right school and also in recognition matters. Herself a mother since 2015, Tanja is already looking forward to seeing her son in a British school uniform in due course...

glasmacher team 1

Elke Böck

For many years Elke Böck worked internationally in various branches of industry until she met Barbara Glasmacher who placed the two Böck children at British boarding schools. Developing a passion for this métier herself, Elke Böck joined the company as an independent counsellor over 20 years ago. Apart from consulting and problem-solving Frau Böck’s specialist area is the intricacy of recognition requirements for university study.

Cora bearbeitet3

Cora Bredl

Cora Bredl is our „Münchner Kindl“ in the Glasmacher team. She loves the Bavarian way of life with its traditions and the proximity to the mountains. Her studies of American cultural history and communication sciences have brought her closer to the American way of life, but many trips and stays abroad have also led Cora to the United Kingdom. Even as a child, she cycled with her family to London. This, including the series "Miss Marple", laid the foundation for her love of Great Britain.

glasmacher team 2

Monika Domokos

Of Hungarian origin Monika Domokos usually reserves her “fiery” side for her free time when she is a passionate dancer of the Tango Argentino. Being herself a speaker of six languages and having studied Business with an emphasis on Tourism, who better than she to advise you on the choice of a suitable language course? Her 20-year loyalty to the company speaks for itself.

glasmacher team 3

Helen Fürnthaler

Helen Fürnthaler was born and grew up in the North of England. After studying Modern Languages at the University of Oxford, and a Postgraduate Certificate in Education at Cambridge, she came to Germany to teach English at a language school. Now after almost 20 years in Munich and with two children at German schools, Helen is able to combine her knowledge of both systems. She enjoys playing the piano and being in the mountains.

glasmacher team 4

Ursula Hilger

Being a passionate mountain hiker Ursula Hilger doesn’t just reach heights in her free time, she is also the peak of efficiency and organisation in the office. In her role as office manager and Barbara Glasmacher’s PA, which she has held for over 20 years, Frau Hilger is a stable pillar at the heart of the company.

glasmacher team 6

Barbara Kirchner-Kádár

Barbara Kirchner-Kádár is of Hungarian origin but was educated in the UK, attending Henrietta Barnett School in London before going on to read Law at the University of Cambridge. She moved to Germany in 2000 where she first worked in two law related jobs. She finally discovered her true vocation in the field of education when she went through the process of finding suitable English boarding schools for her two teenage daughters. Barbara lives and works in Munich but regularly travels to Hungary where she advises Hungarian families on British boarding schools. In her free time she likes to stand at the sidelines of cold football pitches to watch her son play - but she also loves yoga!

glasmacher team 5

Kirsten Kornweibel

Originally from Hamburg, Kirsten Kornweibel spent several years in Chile with her two young children. As such, she has had valuable, personal, first-hand experience of dealing with children’s schooling abroad. In 2018 her daughter had the wonderful opportunity to studie at a UK boarding school for one year. Kirsten studied Business, speaks several languages and has a good eye for detail. Even after 24 years of experience in this line of work she still takes great pleasure in making every effort to keep each and every customer satisfied. Apart from travel her great passions are outdoor sports and mountain hiking.

glasmacher team 7

Patricia Maier

Patricia Maier speaks perfect English, albeit with American accent! Despite her love of owls she is always fully awake and alert during her daytime work. She is mostly responsible for communicating with our numerous partner schools, ensuring they receive new student details and we always have their most up-to-date information at our fingertips.

glasmacher team 8

Victoria Muntendorf

Having spent many years working in education herself, Victoria joined us in 2020 and works from Berlin. She spent two years as a Sixth Form student at a boarding school in Kent, and is excited that soon her second of four children will become a Sixth Form boarding student herself. When not busy with the family or the office, Victoria spends most of her time with her horses who are always a welcome distraction from the bustling daily routine.

Karin Ostler Bewerbung

Karin Ostler

Karin comes from Munich, but spent time abroad in English- and Spanish-speaking countries during and after her studies in business administration with a focus on tourism. This has taught her how valuable and important time in a foreign country can be for young people. Karin is a mother of two herself and is happy to support you and your children in the application process. In addition to her great hobby of travelling, she enjoys skiing and mountain biking in her free time and regularly goes running in the park.

glasmacher team 10

Carolina Schweitzer

Carolina Schweitzer brings true multicultural flair with her: born in Buenos Aires, and raised in England, Carolina spent five years at Wycombe Abbey where she completed her A-Levels. She has lived in various parts of Germany and Vienna for the past 30 years. Her excellent experience with Barbara Glasmacher, who helped place both her children in the Sixth Form at Charterhouse, kindled her desire to become an educational consultant herself. Her extensive knowledge of both the German and British school systems are invaluable assets. Carolina lives in Bonn and consults parents and their children in Bonn, Cologne, Dusseldorf and surrounding area.

glasmacher team 9

Andrea Stichtmann

It is more Andrea Stichtmann’s sunny personality than her blonde hair and love of Italy which brings her warmth to our office. After school she spent many years working internationally in some of the world’s top hotels. A high level of service-orientation is hence second nature to her. Herself a mother, she has a great deal of empathy for parents, whatever their needs or fears. Clients and colleagues alike benefit from her longstanding experience at the Glasmacher office (over 20 years) which means she knows the ropes inside out.

Nathalie v2

Nathalie von Stackelberg

Nathalie joined our team in the summer of 2022 and is happy to be returning to work after intensive family time as a career changer. Originally in tourism and later in event management, Nathalie has about 20 years of professional experience in project management and organisation. She once turned her hobby of traveling into her profession. Now she is looking forward to the English boarding schools project and to her two children soon gaining their experience there.

glasmacher team 11

Annette Wagner

Annette Wagner has been a member of the team since 2002. Mrs Glasmacher still remembers well how impressed she was that Ancient Greek was one of Annette's Abitur (A-level) subjects. Being such an experienced employee, she is well-versed in all aspects of the application process. The precision she shows in her work is a welcome asset. Since the birth of her son she manages to combine with full commitment her obligations as employee and mother. Choir singing and a love of nature help her keep a sound work-life balance.

glasmacher team 13

Jackie Williams

Jackie Williams is one of our three native speakers who brings with her a typical British sense of humour. Having attended Badminton School for many years, where her interest in foreign languages, choral singing and debating was kindled, she knows precisely what boarding life involves. She has worked in this line of business for almost 20 years, over a decade here at Glasmachers. In her free time she keeps her imaginative mind active by slipping into various roles as she practises improvisation theatre as well as through creative writing.

glasmacher team 14

Bonny und Balu

Bonny and Balu are part of the Glasmacher family as well and like to spend lazy hours under one of the desks in the office.

"I'm extremely happy to have had this experience in England because I was also able to learn a lot about myself and found out who I am"

Johanna, 15 years old

Our partners

Our network

Giggleswick School 72dpi 10

We can offer you a comprehensive service. But, of course, we cannot cover everything. That's why we have been working for years in a trusting relationship with many partners, all of whom we know well and can recommend, whether it's tutoring, university advice and career counselling, or assistance with a visa application. You will find a list of our partners here:

List of our partners

Unsere Leistungen

Was wir bieten

Wir sind begeistert und überzeugt vom Abenteuer England und von unseren britischen Partnerschulen. Gern möchten wir Sie und Ihren Sohn oder Ihre Tochter mit dieser Begeisterung anstecken. Wir haben über 25 Jahre Erfahrung in der Internatsvermittlung, kennen über 200 englische Internate persönlich und sind stets in engem Austausch mit unseren Familien, Schülern und Ansprechpartnern vor Ort.

Wir wissen: Nicht jede Schule passt zu jedem Kind, aber es gibt für jedes Kind genau die richtige Schule. Und wenn diese gefunden ist, kann die Zeit in einem englischen Internat zu den schönsten Erfahrungen der Schulzeit werden.

Schenken Sie uns Ihr Vertrauen, wir überzeugen Sie gern! 

image 015

Beratung

Unsere Erstberatung ist immer kostenlos. Das Ziel unserer Beratung ist es, die Wünsche Ihrer Kinder und deren Leistungen und Interessen kennenzulernen und herauszufinden, welche Schulen gut passen würden.

BRYANSTON tennis on grass courts v2

Vermittlung

Aufgrund unseres Know-hows schlagen wir Ihnen die richtigen Schulen für Ihr Kind vor in Bezug auf das akademische, sportliche und musische Angebot sowie gemäß Ihren Wünschen zum Geist und den Werten der Schule, oder zur Größe und Lage.

KZ7C7997 Edit

Begleitung

Unser Service endet nicht nach der Vermittlung. Wir bleiben auch danach noch Ihr Ansprechpartner, sei es beim Thema Visum, Anreise, Taschengeld oder Schuluniform. Und auch während des gesamten Aufenthaltes Ihres Kindes.

Geschäftsführung

Familienunternehmen seit 1996

Die Firma wurde im Dezember 1996 von Barbara Glasmacher gegründet, die damals als Pionierin auf dem Gebiet der Internatsberatung für Großbritannien galt. Ihre aktive Rolle als Geschäftsführerin legte Frau Glasmacher senior im Jahr 2021 nieder, bleibt dem Unternehmen aber als Ratgeberin eng verbunden.

Theresa Glasmacher kennt das britische Internatsleben aus ihrer eigenen Schulzeit an der Sevenoaks School Ende der 1980er Jahre und ist seit 2006 in der Firma tätig. Nach vielen gemeinsamen Jahren in der Unternehmensleitung mit ihrer Mutter ist sie nun alleinige Geschäftsführerin.

Team

Wir sind gern für Sie da

glasmacher ueberuns

Theresa Glasmacher

Nach zwei wunderbaren Jahren an der Sevenoaks School, die sie mit einem IB-Diplom abschloss, absolvierte Theresa Glasmacher zunächst eine Banklehre in München. Anschließend studierte sie Geschichte und Politik an der London School of Economics und an der Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy in Boston. Von 1998 bis 2005 arbeitete Frau Glasmacher im Bereich Umwelt- und Klimaschutz in München und Berlin, wo sie u.a. den EU-Beitrittsprozess von Polen, Ungarn und Estland begleitete. Seit 2006 ist sie im Familienunternehmen tätig. Theresa Glasmacher ist verheiratet und Mutter von zwei Söhnen, der Ältere davon ist seit September 2022 im Internat in England.

glasmacher team

Tanja Berelsmann

Tanja Berelsmanns zweite Heimat ist Großbritannien. Ihre Liebe zu Land, Leuten und Sprache begann als sie 1999 dort ihren A-Level-Abschluss an der Frensham Heights School machte. Danach folgte ein Politikstudium in England, Frankreich und Deutschland, verschiedene Auslandsaufenthalte sowie Lehrertätigkeiten in Afrika und Berlin bevor sie 2010 zu uns kam. Wie ihrer Mutter Elke Böck ist es Frau Berelsmann eine Herzensangelegenheit, bei der Suche nach der passenden Schule zu helfen und bei Anerkennungsfragen für Aufklärung zu sorgen. Seit 2015 ist sie selbst Mutter und freut sich jetzt schon darauf, ihren Nachwuchs irgendwann in britischer Schuluniform zu sehen.

glasmacher team 1

Elke Böck

Elke Böck war jahrelang international in den verschiedensten Sparten in der Wirtschaft tätig, bis sie bei den Englandaufenthalten ihrer beiden Kinder Frau Barbara Glasmacher kennen lernte und damit ihre Leidenschaft für die Schulberatung entdeckte. Sie ist seit nunmehr über zwei Jahrzehnten für uns als selbständige Beraterin und Anerkennungsspezialistin tätig und findet für jedes Problem mit Freude eine Lösung.

Cora bearbeitet3

Cora Bredl

Cora Bredl ist unser Münchner Kindl im Team Glasmacher. Sie liebt die bayerische Lebensart mit ihren Traditionen und die Nähe zu den Bergen. Ihr Studium der Amerikanischen Kulturgeschichte und Kommunikationswissenschaften hat sie mehr der amerikanischen Lebensart nähergebracht, viele Reisen und Auslandsaufenthalte haben Frau Bredl aber auch nach Großbritannien geführt. Schon als Kind war sie mit der Familie mit dem Rad nach London unterwegs. Das und unter anderem die Serie „Miss Marple“ legten damals den Grundstein ihrer Liebe zu Großbritannien.

glasmacher team 2

Monika Domokos

Monika Domokos ist ungarischer Abstammung und lebt ihre feurige Seite am liebsten beim Tango Argentino aus. Wer sollte Sie besser bei der Wahl eines Sprachkurses beraten, als diejenige, die selbst sechs Sprachen spricht und Betriebswirtschaft mit Schwerpunkt Tourismus studiert hat? Ihre über 20-jährige Betriebszugehörigkeit spricht für sich selbst.

glasmacher team 3

Helen Fürnthaler

Helen Fürnthaler ist im Norden Englands aufgewachsen. Nach ihrem Studium der Germanistik und Romanistik an der Universität Oxford und einem postgraduierten Lehramtsstudium in Cambridge kam sie nach Deutschland, um Englisch zu unterrichten. Nach fast 20 Jahren in München und zwei Söhnen im deutschen Schulsystem kennt Frau Fürnthaler die Besonderheiten beider Länder bestens. In ihrer Freizeit spielt sie Klavier und genießt die bayerischen Berge.

glasmacher team 4

Ursula Hilger

Liebt nicht nur in ihrer Freizeit das Bergsteigen, auch im Büro ist Ursula Hilger stets auf dem Gipfel der Organisation und Effizienz. Als Büroleiterin und persönliche Assistentin der Geschäftsleitung ist sie seit ihrem Firmeneintritt 1999 ein nicht wegzudenkender, stabiler Brückenpfeiler unserer gesamten Bürostruktur.

glasmacher team 6

Barbara Kirchner-Kádár

Barbara Kirchner-Kádár kommt ursprünglich aus Ungarn, ist aber in England aufgewachsen. Ihre Schulzeit verbrachte sie in London bevor sie Jura in Cambridge studierte. Vor gut 20 Jahren kam sie nach Deutschland wo sie zunächst in Rechtsanwaltskanzleien bzw. im Recruiting für Anwaltsberufe arbeitete. Ihre Begeisterung für die Bildungsbranche bemerkte sie erst, als sie für ihre zwei Töchter geeignete Internate in England suchte. Barbara Kirchner-Kádár lebt und arbeitet in München, aber führt auch regelmäßige Info-Veranstaltungen für interessierte Familien in Budapest durch. In ihrer Freizeit steht sie oft (frierend) am Rand des Fußballplatzes wenn ihr Sohn spielt, oder macht gern Yoga.

glasmacher team 5

Kirsten Kornweibel

Ursprünglich aus Hamburg stammend, hat Kirsten Kornweibel zusammen mit ihren zwei Kindern einen mehrjährigen Chile-Aufenthalt verbracht und kennt sich daher und durch den einjährigen britischen Internatsaufenthalt ihrer Tochter mit dem Thema „Kinder und Schule im Ausland“ bestens aus. Sie ist studierte Betriebswirtin, spricht mehrere Fremdsprachen und hat ein Auge für Details. Nach über 24 Jahren Berufserfahrung macht es ihr immer noch viel Freude, unseren Familien jeden Wunsch zu erfüllen. Ihre großen Leidenschaften sind das Reisen sowie der Outdoorsport in den Bergen.

glasmacher team 7

Patricia Maier

Patricia Maier beherrscht die englische Sprache perfekt, wenn auch eher mit amerikanischem Einschlag. Trotz ihrer Liebe zu Eulen ist sie immer hellwach bei der Arbeit, wo sie unsere Boarding School Bewerber seit 2015 bestens betreut und nebenbei unsere Informationen und Listen stets auf dem aktuellen Stand hält.

glasmacher team 8

Victoria Muntendorf

Victoria Muntendorf ergänzt seit 2020 das Team von Berlin aus mit ihren langjährigen Erfahrungen in der Bildungsberatung. Frau Muntendorf ist Absolventin eines englischen Internates (Sevenoaks School) und freut sich, dass nun schon das zweite ihrer vier Kinder Erfahrungen in einer britischen Schule sammeln kann. Wenn Familie und Beruf es zulassen verbringt Frau Muntendorf gerne jede freie Minute bei ihren Pferden und findet dort immer einen wunderbaren Ausgleich zum Trubel im Alltag.

Karin Ostler Bewerbung

Karin Ostler

Karin Ostler kommt aus München, hat jedoch während und nach ihrem Studium der Betriebswirtschaft mit Schwerpunkt Tourismus viel Zeit im englischsprachigen und spanischsprachigen Ausland verbracht. Dadurch hat sie erfahren, wie wertvoll und wichtig die Zeit im Ausland für junge Menschen sein kann. Karin Ostler ist selbst zweifache Mutter und unterstützt Sie und Ihre Kinder gerne beim Bewerbungsprozess. Neben ihrem großen Hobby Reisen fährt sie in ihrer Freizeit sehr gerne Ski und Mountainbike und geht regelmäßig im Park Laufen.

glasmacher team 10

Carolina Schweitzer

Carolina Schweitzer hat einen wahren multikulturellen Hintergrund: Geboren in Buenos Aires und aufgewachsen in England, verbrachte Frau Schweitzer die letzten fünf Jahre ihrer Schulzeit an dem berühmten Mädcheninternat Wycombe Abbey. Ihre zwei Kinder besuchten Schulen in Düsseldorf, Wien und Bonn und legten ihr IB-Diploma in Charterhouse ab. Mit Wohnsitz in Bonn/Bad Godesberg berät sie seit 2015 unsere Familien in Bonn, Düsseldorf, Köln und Umgebung.

glasmacher team 9

Andrea Stichtmann

Nicht nur wegen ihrer blonden Haare und ihrer Liebe zur Sonne und Italien ist Andrea Stichtmann unser Sonnenschein im Büro. Nach dem Abitur sammelte sie langjährige Erfahrung in der internationalen Spitzenhotellerie und ist dadurch die ausgewiesene Dienstleistungsexpertin in unserem Team. Selbst Mutter eines Sohnes, kann sie sich sehr gut in verschiedene Situationen einfühlen und Unterstützung bei allen Fragen des Bewerbungsablaufs anbieten. Von ihrer Erfahrung aus über 20-jähriger Betriebszugehörigkeit profitieren wir alle, aber vor allem die vielen Eltern, deren Kinder sie auf dem Weg nach Großbritannien begleitet hat.

Nathalie v2

Nathalie von Stackelberg

Nathalie von Stackelberg ergänzt unser Team seit Sommer 2022. Sie freut sich auf ihren Wiedereinstieg ins Berufsleben nach intensiver Familienzeit als Quereinsteigerin. Ursprünglich im Tourismus und später im Eventmanagement verfügt Fr. v. Stackelberg über ca. 20 Jahre Berufserfahrung in Projektleitung und Organisation. Ihr Hobby Reisen hat sie einst zum Beruf gemacht. Nun freut sie sich auf das Projekt Englische Internate und darauf, dass ihre beiden Kinder bald dort ihre Erfahrungen sammeln werden.



glasmacher team 11

Annette Wagner

Annette Wagner arbeitet seit 2002 bei uns im Team. An das Bewerbungsgespräch erinnert sich Frau Glasmacher senior noch heute gut, da sie u.a. von Frau Wagners Abiturleistungsfach Altgriechisch so beeindruckt war. Als langjährige Mitarbeiterin kennt sich Frau Wagner bestens mit allen Facetten des Bewerbungsprozesses aus und bereichert das Team auch durch ihr detailgetreues Arbeiten. Seit der Geburt ihres kleinen Sohnes vereinbart sie Arbeit und Familie mit viel Freude und Engagement, singt nebenbei im Chor und ist gern in der Natur.

glasmacher team 13

Jackie Williams

Unsere vielseitig interessierte native speaker - samt obligatorischem britischen Humor - berät seit beinahe 20 Jahren Familien in allen Fragen rund um das Internatsleben. Seit 2007 ist sie ein sehr geschätztes Mitglied unseres Teams. Als langjährige Internatsschülerin der renommierten Badminton School kennt sie alle Facetten des britischen Schullebens aus eigener Erfahrung. In ihrer Freizeit macht sie gern Impro-Theater und hält den Geist durch kreatives Schreiben fit.

glasmacher team 14

Bonny und Balu

Bonny und Balu unsere Bürohunde lieben den Trubel und die Gemütlichkeit in unseren Räumen in der Schwabinger Innenstadt und machen es sich dabei selbst gerne unter den Schreibtischen bequem.

"Ich bin unglaublich froh, diese Erfahrung in England gemacht zu haben, weil ich sehr viel über mich selbst erfahren und mich selbst auch finden konnte."

Johanna, 15 Jahre

Unsere Partner

Unser Netzwerk

Giggleswick School 72dpi 10

Wir können Ihnen einen umfangreichen Service bieten. Aber natürlich können wir nicht alles abdecken. Wir arbeiten daher seit Jahren vertrauensvoll mit vielen Partnern zusammen, die wir alle gut kennen und empfehlen können. Ob beim Thema Nachhilfe, Studienberatung und Karriereberatung bis zur Begleitung eines Visaantrages. Hier finden Sie eine Liste unserer Partner

Liste unserer Partner